Amongst the hustle and bustle

While travelling home after a long day at work, I suddenly thought to myself ‘What am I doing with my life? Where am I going?’ I’m a 28 year old who has busied herself in just another monotonous and mundane 9 hours job (not to forget the 5 hours long commuting; which involves running to catch a local train, attempting to get into one and if successful in that, getting pushed around by screaming women who don’t even seem to know what are they screaming for). Isn’t this the story of most of us staying in Mumbai? It’s said that Mumbai is the city of dreams where all your dreams can get fulfilled, but this is not what I dreamt of. I don’t want to be a part of the crowd which keeps running around just to get to work on time and then to reach back home. I want to live my life, which is not revolving only around job and money. I want to enjoy every moment of being alive, travel, see the world, meet new people, go on journeys which teach me about myself, my companions and the world around us in all its vivid and bright colours. You may think what’s stopping me, but I also know that you got the answer the moment you asked the question; responsibilities, expectations and not to forget, the Society. All of us want to be financially independent and put all those expensive degrees of ours to good use. We want those skirts from ZARA, jackets from Vero Moda, Ruby Woo from M.A.C and what not. Let’s accept it, we’re greedy people; at least I am. I want it all, all the clothes I like, shoes of all possible colours and styles, make up which can make me look flawless and attractive, and in addition, I also want to enjoy being alive. Am I being too greedy? May be not, we have only one life to live. I don’t know what happens after we die, I don’t know if I’ll get to enjoy all these things again or not, so I want to enjoy every bit of it so that one day when my skin is wrinkled and my hair all grey, I look back in time and say ‘I lived my life the way I wanted to’. We are all expected to live our lives a certain way and if we break these unsaid rules, we are mocked at, shouted at and pointed fingers at. Should we really care about what others expect us to do? Don’t we have the right to choose the kind of a life we want for ourselves, as far as we are happy and nobody gets hurt? We need to find time for ourselves, to do the things we like and to be with the people who make us happy. If going to work makes you happy, then there’s nothing wrong with spending those extra hours at work; but if that’s not the case, make time for the things which you always wanted to do, for that hobby you wanted to pursue and for the journey you wanted to take.

Leave a Reply

